Sleeping Under Enon

solamen miseris socios habuisse doloris

Review of Twilight

So I’m now writing film reviews for Vampires.com and I decided to start with Twilight, given that it seems to be the defining idea of what a vampire is in this day and age. I’ll post a short snippet of the review and then you can read the rest at Vampires.com (and I’ll be kind enough to supply you all with a link). Enjoy!

When I told my brother I was watching Twilight to review it, his response was ‘Go chop off your penis, as you clearly don’t deserve it anymore’. My sister, on the other hand, is utterly obsessed with the phenomenon and manages to tear herself away from MSN long enough to read the books at an ungodly pace. Such is the divide between people who like Twilight (i.e. females under the age of 17) and those who would rather sandpaper off their own face than sit through 2 hours of the creepy love story of Tinkerbell and his undead bride to be.

OK, so at this point I should probably make it clear that I sit in the latter camp. For me, Stephenie Meyer nearly single-handedly destroyed my love and obsession with vampires that I had carefully nurtured for half of my life. Having never seen the Twilight films before, I thought I’d give it a chance. So maybe when I first heard that vampires, according to Meyer, sparkled in the sun I thought my house mate was taking the piss (for Americans and others unfamiliar with this phrase, it roughly means ‘You have got to be fucking kidding me’), but I wouldn’t let that get in the way of this review. It’s not like I hate all chick flick films containing teenage angst. For instance, 10 Things I Hate About You is actually one of my favourite films. Come to think of it, when I was younger I enthusiastically read the Christopher Pike series of ‘The Last Vampire’ and some of the Nightworld books by L. J. Smith, so I can accept the idea of vampires, angst and love being in the same book/film, although perhaps with some scepticism now that I’ve grown up since then. Now that my credibility has officially been torn to shreds, let’s proceed shall we?

You can read the rest here: http://www.vampires.com/twilight-the-nu-vampire/

Leave a Reply

